Bill the Thief

As best as I can remember, the abuse with Bill went on until I was about 13 years old.  Around the age of 13 I went to live with my mom and her boyfriend again and then later went to live with my dad in Oregon. My mom and her boyfriend had moved to Nevada so I rarely saw Bill.

After I graduated from high school, I went back to California to live with my great-grandmother. Bill was still there helping her with shopping, yard work etc. in exchange for free room and board. One day while I was at work he went into the house and told my great-grandmother to give him the keys to her car. She asked why and he said that he was taking the car and leaving. She didn’t want to give him the keys but he told her not to make him have to get the keys himself. He took the car and we never saw it again. He also cleaned out everything from the garage including family photos, heirlooms, furniture and everything else right down to the Christmas decorations. I have a feeling that he owed money to someone possibly over gambling debts and he had to come up with money from somewhere. The police were not much help saying that he lived there and those items were just as much his as they were hers. It was very sad for my great-grandmother as I know she trusted him after all those years.

I saw Bill years later in a camera shop. He was sitting in a chair behind the counter watching people. It was very strange because I got the feeling that he was there as security but in a mobster sort of way. I remember making eye contact with him and he had this cold hateful sort of look in his eyes. It gave me the creeps and a little chill went down my spine.

Sometime later I heard that he was working as a janitor at an elementary school. When I heard that he maybe working around children a red flag went up for me. I went to the local police and told them everything that had happened and that he might be working at a school. They checked all of the schools but never found him so hopefully my information was wrong.

Bill has long since passed away and i’m sure he got what he deserved in the next life. The memories remain for me but those events happened long ago and I choose not to dwell on them.

Now on to the next chapter.

~ by Isis on July 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
