Then There Was Don

My mom met Don at a motorcycle run in the 70’s. Don retired from the Air Force as a Lt. Colonel and was a decorated fighter pilot in WWII. Don was loved by everyone who met him. He was very outgoing, charismatic and talented when it came to mechanics. Unfortunately, he was also an alcoholic and a child molester.

Don drank martinis from noon till he went to bed everyday that I can remember. As a matter of fact, he taught me how to make a dry gin martini….fill the glass with gin, add a couple of drops of vermouth and throw in a couple of green olives. He would work in the garage building trikes (three-wheeled motorcycles) everyday. Around noon he would tell me to make him a grilled cheese sandwich and a martini.

Don was much older than my mom and had two grown children. His daughter’s name was Linda but I can’t remember the name of his son. I vaguely remember that Linda had problems with addiction. I know she had a drinking problem and I think she was also involved in drugs. I remember Don being very disappointed in her. She was always asking for money and just never seemed to be able to keep in together.

Don was very “military” in that everything was always organized, clean and planned out. The house was cleaned as though it were the barracks, his clothes were folded the military way and he dressed as if he were going to inspection. These were all good qualities for my mom because I believe she was just the opposite prior to meeting him. My mom and him were together for over 12 years but never married. I never could really figure out the relationship entirely because sometimes when I was there my mom slept in the same bedroom as him and sometimes she slept in a different bedroom.

I have often thought about Linda and wondered why she had all of the issues that she had. One day it occurred to me, maybe I do know why she add the problems that she did. After all, we all manage the aftermath of our abuse in different ways…..for some people it’s with drugs and alcohol.

~ by Isis on July 26, 2011.

One Response to “Then There Was Don”

  1. Unfortunately, there has been a correlation between the military and molestation. Reading the story is a direct stimulant for the substance abuse since it is usually a cyclic pattern.

Leave a Reply

 
