About Me

I was born in San Bernardino California in 1967. I am an only child and was primarily raised by my grandmother and great-grandmother. My grandmothers second husband  lived in an unattached room behind the house. He continued to live there even after they divorced.

My mother and father divorced when I was about 2 years old. I don’t remember them ever being married. My mother wasn’t really the “motherly” type and sent me to live with my grandmother and great-grandmother (I will refer to them as my grandmothers). My mother was not the typical woman of her time. She loved horses and motorcycles. She was riding motorcycles before it was acceptable for women to have their own bike. I would describe her as a free spirit who didn’t want to be tied down with a child.

My father was pretty much out of the picture throughout my childhood. I can only remember him being around a couple of times. I know that he never paid child support and my grandmothers couldn’t stand him. He was born in Missouri and his family had immigrated to the U.S. from Spain via Cuba. I believe his father was either VERY strict or abusive toward my father. I remember my father telling me that his dad threw him through a door once. I”m not sure what happened between him and his family but they disowned him and he had no contact with any of his family. Unfortunately, that means I never had the opportunity to meet any of my father’s side of the family. My father was in the Navy for a short period of time. I was told by my grandmothers that he went AWOL but I have no confirmation of that. I know that he was married at least once prior to my mom. There were rumors that I had an older brother and sister somewhere in the world (more on that later). It seems that my dad liked to “play the field” and cheated on my mom which is one of many reasons why she divorced him.

There were times that I would go live with my mom and her boyfriend but that didn’t usually last long and I would be back with my grandmothers. Because of moving back and forth, I changed schools often. I believe that if I had had more of a stable school environment I would have been a very good student but with all of the moves my grades were just mediocre. I lived for one year in Nevada when my mom and her boyfriend decided to “get away from it all”.  I spent my high school years in Oregon which in some ways was a nice change from California. Oregon also had its challenges which I will go into more later.

After I graduated from high school, I moved back to California. I stayed there until the late 1990’s when I moved to Texas which is where I live now. I work in the cable television industry. I compete in triathlons, duathlons and adventure racing. I love to bike, run, hike and go camping….pretty much anything to do with the outdoors. I also love to read and am an avid knitter.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: